Crew finishes first at Clark

By Simmons Athletics

The Simmons crew team charges through Lake Quinsigamond
Photo: Simmons Athletics

The Simmons College women’s one varsity and two varsity eight squads both finished first at the Clark Invitational on Lake Quinsigamond in Worcester, Mass.

The Sharks’ 13-nationally ranked 1V8 won by just under 1.5 seconds pulling across the finish of the 2,000-meter course with a time of 7:06.8. University of Vermont was right behind at 7:08.27, and Mount Holyoke College placed third at 7:16.42. Host Clark University, Bryant University and Endicott College finished in succession after Mount Holyoke.

Simmons 1V8 lineup was virtually the same as the day before with senior Chelsea Foster in the stroke seat, followed by sophomores Phoebe Knox, Ronnie Bennett, Erin Lilienthal, and Erica Bartle. Senior Sophie Stone sat in the second seat ahead of classmate Jess Randolph and senior bow Jill Bolduc. Sophomore Katie Fierlit took over the coxswain duties for the race.

Simmons 2V8 won in thrilling fashion, edging UVM by just over half a second. The Sharks posted a mark of 7:39.5, while UVM’s 2V8 clocked in at 7:40.14. Mount Holyoke finished third at 7:51.4. For the second straight day, the Sharks’ shell was the same at the stroke with sophomore Elsbeth Colson setting the pace, followed once again by senior Allie Belanger, first-year Eliana Ruben and sophomore Elizabeth Rea-Wilson. First-year Niamh McIntosh-Yee sat in the number four seat, followed by senior Abi Smith and sophomores Karina Bercan, Alexa Frongillo, who was in the bow seat. Sophomore Clarice Johnson served as the usual coxswain.

Clark’s novice crew won the frosh/novice race in a time of 7:39.6, while Vermont placed second at 7:44.73 and the Sharks’ novice shell crossed at 7:55.56. The Simmons novice crew was the same first-year contingent as the day before. Kit Birch led the squad as the stroke, followed by Madison Summers, Jacquelyn Noyes, Kellie Cann, Christine Yu, Kneide Nascimento, Nicole Lee and Sara Amina Hassad in the bow seat. Melissa Morton directed from the coxswain perch.