Prof. Weaver releases final book in trilogy

By Ellen Garnett
Staff Writer

“City of Eternal Spring,” the last book of verse in Professor Afaa Michael Weaver’s Plum Flower Triology, was published on Sept. 17.  The last book will accompany “The Plum Flower Dance” and “Government of Nature” to complete the trilogy Weaver has been working on since 1985.

Weaver’s trilogy focuses on spiritualism as it relates to the American upbringing, while a number of his other poems specifically emphasize the African American upbringing. “City of Eternal Spring, the third book in the trilogy, was dedicated to his first son who died when he was 10-months-old. Overall, Weaver’s lyrical poems give legs to the everyday experiences, not-so-everyday experiences and feelings with which we struggle.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s